top of page

Why Are You Sitting Alone?


I’m saying this because it is never too late to get involved.

This brings me back to a time in my life, where I pathetically attempted to push myself out of my comfort zone. It was 9th grade and I had this overwhelming desire to become a competition cheerleader. If there is anything to know about competition cheerleading, the majority of the girls have been in cheerleading and gymnastics for many, many years and start at a young age. I was a 15-year-old girl amongst a group of very flexible 6-year-olds.

Let’s just say, my dreams did not come true in that situation. However, it does not have to be that way in college. There are multitudes of clubs to join, plenty of organizations wanting you, and many connections to be made. I’d advise any underclassman to explore these options as soon as you get to school. Getting involved is fun!

I would also advise upperclassman to explore their options too. It’s never too late to make a friend, and it also doesn’t hurt to add something to your resume. Even if you only are a part of something for a year, the impact could be tremendous.

I made my best decision my junior year of college when I decided to become a founding member of my sorority. While most women join their Greek organizations their freshman and sophomore years, I invested myself a little late. However, it has put me in leadership roles, it has made me more responsible, and it has prepared me in so many ways for my future. PLUS IT’S FUN!!!!!!

Beyond Greek life, however, are tons of other clubs to join. The best part of college is there is something made just for you! Whether it is a community service group, the anime club, student government, etc., you will find a community that you may even call home.

Don’t sit alone, don’t miss out on opportunity, and don’t make excuses. Go explore your options and enjoy as much as you can during your time at college!


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page